Located on Inthayongyot Road near Wat Phra That Hariphunchai, the museum was founded in 1827 with the Fine Arts Department adding another building to it in 1975. Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn officiated over the opening of the new building in 1979. The museum is separated into three rooms;
Main Exhibition Hall: This large hall on the second floor of the building features displays of ancient artefacts from pre historic times through the Hariphunchai era to the Lanna Kingdom era.
Folk Arts and Carved Woodenwares Hall: Located in a separate small building which connects to the main building, the artefacts featured showcase local wisdom from the Lanna and Rattanakosin periods – every day tools and farming utensils, iron forging tools and weaving looms, musical instruments and carved wooden items, etc.
Stone Inscription Hall: Located on the first floor of the main building, this hall showcases a variety of stone inscription from the Hariphunchai and Lanna periods.
Open Wednesdays to Sundays. Entry fee 20 baht for Thai nationals and 100 baht for foreign nationals. Call 0 5351 1186 or fax 0 5353 0536.